The Top 10 Coursera classes I Have Never Passed

Education is what remains after you have forgotten everything else, Or something along those lines. I have been a part of Coursera,  Skillshare, Udemy and many other platforms that deliver MOOC classes and the one thing that is consistent throughout all of them is that I can count on one hand the number of classes I have finished.  For me the value I get from online classes is not the fake certificate that you receive after you pass these online classes, but the information and ways to apply it that I have learned. That is why I want to tell you about the top ten online classes I have never passed on the Coursera platform.

1.  Duke University- A Beginner’s Guide to Irrational Behavior

This is one of the most enjoyable courses that I have ever taken. It discusses  behavioral economics and why people are often irrational in the choices they make, even though most people think that they make rational choices. The graphics and videos and were top notch and truly engaged me. Even though I did less than 50% of the assignments I still stuck around because the course was so darn interesting.

2. University of Florida- Personal & Family Financial Planning

This course was all about teaching you the ins and outs of financial planning and  I think that is did a great job in breaking down all the different ways you can manage your money. It explored how to do your taxes to what mutual funds . This course is comprehensive and I highly recommend everyone take it

3. University of Pennsylvania- Design: Creation of Artifacts in Society

This is the course to take if you want to learn more about the process of designing something.  It is a practical course where you set out to design your own product. This can be anything from a website, to a product that helps you hang your bicycle in your dorm room. It gives seriously practical advice on what makes good design and is highly recommended for the  designer.

4. Case Western Reserve University- Inspiring Leadership through Emotional Intelligence

If you want to improve you leadership skills I highly suggest you take this course. It offers practical examples from all over the world of good leaders. It explores ways to improve emotional intelligence so that you can become a better  in tuned with you followers and influence them effectively. I think this class is super helpful to anyone that is about to begin a leadership role.

5. University of Pennsylvania-  Designing Cities

This class is like a crash course  for the aspiring city planner. It talks about what makes an ideal city and how designers and planners can design cities in such a way that they do less harm and contribute to creating vibrant communities .

6. University of Pennsylvania- Better Leader, Richer Life

Another awesome leadership course that can help you to become a better leader. This course is about  helping anyone that is a leader strike a balance in their lives. It is the online version of an executive leadership course and gives real practical examples of how to lead without burning out.

7. Emory University – Understanding Violence

This course is about violence and It was a real eye opener for me. It really made me think about the effects of violence and really out into context the effect violence can have on society. I highly recommend any sociology buff to take this course.

8. University of Colorado Boulder- Comic Books and Graphic Novels

Do you like superman? Well this is the course or you. Seriously though, this course is about comic books and really does a good job of breaking the different genres in comic books and graphic novels. I left it thinking that comics are a significant part of literature and I believe that anyone with a love of literature would also enjoy this course

9. University of New Mexico- Curanderismo: Traditional Medicine

This course is all about traditional medicine. It explores mostly traditional medicine from South America and Mexico. If you want to know about alternative mdeicine I highly recommend this course.

10. University of Rochester- Fundamentals of Audio and Music Engineering: Part 1 Musical Sound & Electronics

This class is all about electrical engineering and designing your own speaker. If you ever wanted to create your own speaker and control your own sounds that sound this class gives you the step by step guide as to how to build your own speakers.

I think Coursera classes are awesome, especially the 10 gems I have mentioned above. But, I want to hear from you. What are your favorite Coursera classes and  why?

Yours in Awesome Learning,

Janeille

Leave a comment