You Dawg It’s Past Your Bedtime: Design Your Own Habit

The next step on my learning journey involves Skill share, an online platform that allows anyone to take classes on various topics  including business, design and even cooking . Recently, I took a class on Skillshare called , Design Your Own habits: Behaviour Design. It is taught by Tiago Forte, he a productivity coach that helps people to develop habits that allow them to be more productive and overall more effective in getting things done in life.

I must say that this class was really helpful because it helped me to look at the current habits that I have in my life and what habits I would want to develop later in order to improve my overall effectiveness in work and more broadly in life. If you have a look below you can see what I worked on throughout the class.

Janeille_Habit Loop 12_10_2014

As you can see above, the habit I developed was to go to bed by 10 PM every night. This was easier said than done. As someone that likes to stay up late I found this challenging. However, I found that going through the Design Your Own Habit exercises ,I found that if I focused on my trigger with was listening to my alarm it became easier and also by looking at my small wins and closers this helped to make it easier to stick to my habit a lot because I didn’t feel like a failure if I didn’t 100% do my habit sometimes. I am on day five of it, but I have not faltered yet (fingers crossed).

All in all I think this class is worth the effort and the teacher Tiago is really invested in students. He even took the time to evaluate my habit sheet and give me tips on how to make my habit more specific. For an online class this level engagement of students is really something. He even has giveaways every month to students that post something new based on his criteria.

Check out the class here: http://www.skillshare.com/classes/entrepreneurship/Design-Your-Habits-A-Hands-On-Introduction-to-Behavior-Design/978368389?via=similar-classes

So what habit would you want to develop that you think would have a huge impact on your life?

Yours in Awesome Learning,

Janeille

Leave a comment